## 2022

#### **PROGRAM**

Hosts

#### **Ohad Kadan**

Charles J. Robel Dean's Chair W. P. Carey Distinguished Chair in Business W. P. Carey School of Business Arizona State University

#### **Alexander Triantis**

Dean

Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

#### William P. Carey II

Senior Vice President, W. P. Carey Inc. Chairman, W. P. Carey Foundation

### Chryssa Halley

CFO

Fannie Mae

Economic Outlook 2023

#### Douglas G. Duncan

Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, Fannie Mae

#### **PROCEDURES**

The Lawrence R. Klein
Award for Blue Chip Forecast
Accuracy is presented by
the W. P. Carey School of Business
for consistency and accuracy
in economic forecasting.

Those eligible for the award are analysts from organizations whose projections were recorded in the Blue Chip Economic Indicators newsletter in January of the four prior years.

The forecasts included
three key indicators as shown
in the accompanying table.
The smallest average percentage
point error of the eligible
participants determined the
2022 winner to be Douglas G. Duncan
of Fannie Mae.







Data provided by Haver Analytics

# Lawrence R. Klein Award for Blue Chip Forecast Accuracy

**Economic Forecast and Award Program** 

Wednesday | Oct. 12, 2022 | 6 to 8 p.m. Eastern

The smallest forecast error measure for the 2018 to 2021 period was calculated for Douglas G. Duncan of Fannie Mae, winner of the 2022 Lawrence R. Klein Award for Blue Chip Forecast Accuracy.

## Douglas G. Duncan Forecasting Record, 2018 to 2021

Indicator	Average Actual Indicator Values	Average Absolute Forecast Errors	Calculated Percent Errors
Gross Domestic Product	1.875	0.475	0.253
Consumer Price Index	2.525	0.900	0.356
Unemployment Rate	5.275	0.200	0.038
Average Error Measure			0.216

Note: Based on forecasts (2018 to 2021) in Blue Chip Economic Indicators and actual values for target indicators. All averages are for 2018 to 2021.

## Douglas G. Duncan

Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, Fannie Mae



Duncan is responsible for forecasts and analyses of the economy and the housing and mortgage markets at Fannie Mae. He also oversees strategic research regarding the potential impact of external factors on the housing industry. Under his leadership, Fannie Mae's Economic & Strategic Research Group won the NABE Outlook Award, presented annually for the most accurate GDP and Treasury note yield forecasts, in both 2015 and 2016 – the first recipient in the award's history to capture the honor two years in a row. In addition, ESR was awarded by Pulsenomics for best home price forecast. Duncan was also named one of Bloomberg/Businessweek's 50 Most Powerful People in Real Estate.

Prior to joining Fannie Mae, Duncan was Senior Vice President and Chief Economist at the Mortgage Bankers Association. His experience also includes work on the Financial Institutions Project at the U.S. Department of Agriculture and service as a LEGIS Fellow and staff member with the Committee on Banking, Finance, and Urban Affairs for Congressman Bill McCollum in the U.S. House of Representatives. Previously, Duncan was a Board member of the National Association of Business Economics and a Board member and Chairman of Strategies to Elevate People (STEP).

Duncan received his PhD in agricultural economics from Texas A&M University and his BS and MS in agricultural economics from North Dakota State University. He was also elected as a Trustee of North Dakota State University in 2022.

2022

Douglas G. Duncan Fannie Mae

2021

Carl Tannenbaum Northern Trust\*\*

2020

Ellen Zentner\*\*
Morgan Stanley\*\*\*

2019

Sam Kahan ACT Research Co. LLC

2018

Ellen Zentner\*\*
Morgan Stanley\*\*\*

2017

Nariman Behravesh IHS Markit

2016

Dean Maki\*\*
Point72 Asset Management

2015

Robert A. Dye Comerica Bank\*\*

2014

John Lonski Moody's Capital Markets

2013

Dean Maki\*\* Barclays

2012

Richard Berner & David Greenlaw Morgan Stanley\*\*\* 2011

Jan Hatzius\*\* Goldman Sachs\*\*

2010

Sherry Cooper BMO Financial Group

2009

Jan Hatzius\*\*
Goldman Sachs\*\*

2008

Joel Naroff

Naroff Economic Advisors

2007

Kenneth T. Mayland ClearView Economics LLC

2006

Paul L. Kasriel Northern Trust\*\*

2005

Robert C. Fry Jr. & Robert H. Shrouds DuPont\*\*\*

2004

Mickey D. Levy & Peter E. Kretzmer Bank of America\*\*

2003

David L. Littmann Comerica Bank\*\*

2000

Gail D. Fosler
The Conference Board

1999

Michael K. Evans Northwestern University

1998

David M. Blitzer Standard & Poor's Corp.

1997

Martin B. Zimmerman Ford Motor Co.

1996

Lyle F. Gramley Mortgage Bankers Assoc. of America

1995

Laurence H. Meyer\* Laurence H. Meyer & Assoc., Ltd.\*\*

1994

Donald Ratajczak Georgia State University

1993

Laurence H. Meyer\*\* Laurence H. Meyer & Assoc., Ltd.\*\*

1991

Richard D. Karfunkle Econoviews International Inc.

1990

William B. Hummer Wayne Hummer & Co.

1989

Larry J. Kimbell UCLA 1988

Richard Stuckey
DuPont\*\*\*

1987

Saul H. Hymans\*\* University of Michigan\*\*

1986

John O. Wilson Bank of America\*\*

1985

Timothy J. Sullivan Arnhold & S. Bleichroeder Inc.

1984

Saul H. Hymans\*\* University of Michigan\*\*

1983

Peter L. Bernstein Peter L. Bernstein Inc.

1982

Charles B. Reeder DuPont\*\*\*

1981

James L. Pate Pennzoil